When can you bring up the topic of marriage in a relationship?

Me and my boyfriend have only been dating for a little while (10 months), but I can really see a future with him and I kinda suspect that he can too (I asked him where he saw himself in 5 years - career wise - and he told me with me.. it kinda took me aback and actually made me speechless, but I thought it was sweet. He stares at me with loving eyes like he wants to tell me something a lot too and when I ask him what it is he just says "not yet, I want to tell you, but it's too soon. I just.. I just love you so much").

I personally don't believe in getting married before I have my bachelor's degree so I mean I'm not in a rush to get married now (I couldn't. My mother would KILL me. She got married at my age and she regrets it although she only dated my dad for 3 months long distance, but that's a story for another time) and I also plan on being engaged for at least a year when it does happen, but I'm kinda wondering timeline-wise when it's okay to start brainstorming about it. A year? Two? When does it become socially acceptable to use the M-word?

Updates:
Update: So, the other night we were cuddling and looking at the stars to I looked him in his eyes and said "I want to be with you forever" it was a very emotional moment for us both. Had a very proposal-y feel like a pre-proposal lol.
I saw him cry for the first time and he held me tightly until we both fell asleep. We're on the same page and he said he's been wanting to bring it up for a while, but has been holding out.
Thank you everyone for your advice ^_^

0|0
2|4

Most Helpful Girl

• While I'm not saying bring it up on the first date, it is something to think about. You should talk about marriage and what someone wants in a future in broad strokes in the beginning ie- one day I'd like to get married and have kids.