What type of computer should I get?

I'll just start off by saying, YES I'm going to do my own research, and YES I've access to google, I just like the interaction on here.
So I graduated High School a few weeks ago, and my parents have said I can get a computer for a graduation present.
First things first, I need a laptop that I can carry from place to place in college (It's not just a fifteen pound computer, it's fifteen pounds you carry over miles), and I need to use it to do stuff like take notes and do research and all that jazz.
However, I don't want a computer that can just open up a word doc and load up a web browser. I don't need a lot of power, but I'd like to be able to a little gaming on it. I'm also looking at about a grand to maybe 1200.
Any advice?

0|0
2|10

Most Helpful Guy

• Alienware is absolutely overrated, you pay mostly for the brand and the flashy colors. Do not get a Dell, they fall apart. If you want the laptop to last, it should be at least an i5, and should definitely have more than 4 GB RAM.

0|0
    0|0
    • It might be overrated, but does it work?
      What brand would be better?
      Razor? Asus?

• Show All
    • Yeah I'm sure there are better forums for this
      Thanks man

• That is a fairly specialized forum for this specific purpose and they are most likely far more knowledgeable about it than I am, especially in terms of brands and types :D all I know is what you need to make sure is there or otherwise you will end up having a brick. I am not a fan of razer by the way, they just make their stuff have green lights and put an extra couple bucks on it. Not sure about their PCs though.

What Girls Said 2

• 😯 I really want to be helpful but I have no idea I'll try but don't make fun of the lack of info:
    Macs are always great and reliable but they're expensive so maybe a good ol' HP? Dell is good too, but I would not suggest acer

0|0
    0|0
  • Alienware or Razer 😬

0|0
    0|0