How can a guy get a decent paying job (above poverty level wages, at least) with a general college degree?

Long story short, I was a non-traditional student with a lot of credit hours from both private and public schools. I ran out of financial aid, and had to settle on a general degree so that I could finish college faster while paying out of pocket.

Now, I find myself unable to get a good job that requires a college degree because I'm under-qualified for specific things, and I'm unable to get a good job that DOESN'T require a degree, because I'm over-qualified. I'm slowly losing hope, because the only work I can get is retail for barely minimum wage, and it's killing my spirit.

I have computer repair knowlege (20 years of personal experience, but no professional) and a certification, but I can't even get a basic job at the Geek Squad.

I know I should go back to school, but I can't get financial aid for another bachelors degree. I'm also getting a lot of flack from my mother about racking up even more debt (I already have about $100,000 in federal and private loans).

Should I go back to get a masters degree? Should I do freelance writing and/or art? I am so lost...

0|0
0|6

Most Helpful Guy

• If you are good at fixing computers then perhaps self employment is the way to go.

I would consider taking out a small business loan and learn how to run your own business. That way you can but Geek Squad out of business by being more competitive and still making an above average wage.

0|1
    0|0

What Girls Said 0

No girls shared opinions.

What Guys Said 5

• i dont know its tough but you have to keep looking or get a masters.