At what age do you think "kids will be kids", is no longer a valid excuse for bad behavior?

Everytime I mention that I was bullied in middle school, I get a boat load of different comments.
One of them being "kids will be kids" and when people say that it really makes me mad, because it feels like they're trying give them a free pass for what they did. I was 11 or 12 when entered the sixth grade and I was 14 when I graduated from the eighth grade, I was always a year older then everyone because I was held a back a year in kindergarden and had to do it again. which means, that they were also pre-teens / teens like me and definitely old enough to know what they were doing. So, at that point they were no longer kids and every act they did was deliberate and not out of bratiness. I had a lot of "kids being kids" moments when I was kid and none of that effected me or my outlook on myself, but middle school did and it was not just kids being kids.

It's not just bullying per say, I feel people use things as excuses to condone a persons bad behavior and I think that's wrong. That's how so many people get away with things they shouldn't, because no one is willing to hold them accountable for their actions. Therefore, no valuable lessons can be learned.

So, when do you think "kids will be kids", is no longer a good enough excuse?

0|0
11|6

Most Helpful Guy

Why? Because kids mature at different ages. Teenagers are susceptible to peer pressure everyday. Even adults. Look at social media. I chose twenty one because that's the legal drinking age in the United States. And if u can drink a beer then u should be able to tell right from wrong.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 5