Have you ever done an unpaid internship?

Have you ever done an unpaid internship or co-op term? If so, for what? Have you ever done a paid internship? Discuss.

• Yes - unpaid
    62% (5)50% (5)56% (10)Vote
  • No - paid internships only
    12% (1)20% (2)17% (3)Vote
  • No - never interned
    26% (2)30% (3)27% (5)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|0
4|10

Most Helpful Girl

• I did one that was paid but it was really low wage. Technically I wasn't employed as I was a student. So it was lower than minimum wage. It lasted 8 months and I did get a job at the end of it. Which the pay is pretty good.

0|0
    0|0
    • As long as there was a job at the end of it! Even a low wage job is better than nothing... Though I doubt it covers expenses.

• I was still living with my parents at the time. So I didn't have loads of bills to pay

What Guys Said 10

• never have but I definitely would not have minded taking one. new experiences are always nice.

0|0
    0|0
    • Hopefully you would have someone bankroll you for the duration.

• Show All
    • If you're taking a year long unpaid internship (with long hours, as most are basically the same as a full-time job) you're either going to need a "sponsor" or you have to live at home with generous parents.

• wow I totally didn't get what you meant by bankroll until you explained it, hahaa. yeah most likely I would've just been living with my parents then.

• Yeah, I did and it sucked. It helped me make my mind up about sticking to academia instead of joining the business world, though.

0|0
    0|0
  • Yep. Didn't get a job at the end of it because I was 'over qualified' (they hired the slack jawed local lass who couldnt even load the photocopier), but they offered me another unpaid internship.

0|0
    0|0
    • OMG seriously? EPITOME of rudeness.