What it's like to be a veteran? Do you think veterans are heroes?

What it's like to be a veteran? Do you think veterans are heroes?

0|0
2|7

Most Helpful Guy

• I'm a veteran. I think the auto-respect we get is silly. It's basically the same as a normal job but with a weird dress code, much longer hours, and less pay.

It's all a trick, really. As long as everyone is squabbling over who can blow the most sunshine up the "troops" ass, no one is considering what they are used for: greedy people needing international muscle and greedy military contractors wanting a guaranteed customer they can sell overpriced goods and services to.

1|0
    0|0
    • Interesting perspective! I will never forget watching Patrick Miller on the news when they showed the footage of the five POWs in Iraq in 2003 and when he was point blank asked why he was there to kill Iraqis, he was noticeably scared. Now - I don't want to take anything away from the guy's bravery for what he had done, and I'm sure anyone is his situation would have peed their pants and said the same thing. But really, the soldier, is no more afraid of fighting than other people would be.
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JEy3ApB-NNE
      Start watching him at 3:45
      His exact words are: "I just follow orders." "No, I come to fix broke stuff. I told to shoot only if I'm shot at and they shot at me first, so I shoot back. I don't want to be here."
      It doesn't sound so brave, really. But I've got to give the guy credit for being part of the military, knowing he would be putting his life on the line after being deployed.

What Guys Said 6

• Heroes? Depends.
    In wars like WW2 where it was litteraly country vs. country in an effort to protect your people from occupation, then yes, Soldiers are heroes (Even the German army).
    In modern day wars where Britain and America plunder the middle east for Oil, No, Those soldiers are not 'Heroes', They are pawns of the governments interests.