Is this a good drawing? Why or why not?

Is this a good drawing? Why or why not?

0|0
4|12

Most Helpful Guy

• No, not quite, though I don't want to hurt the feelings of a beginner, but rather encourage. If you seriously consider painting or cartoons etc., you should constantly look for how to improve each time you do. (I'm an artist, and paint like a professional, so, don't feel bad if I sound a bit critical). Drawbacks I see with this: 1) Carelessly done on piece of rough ruled paper. Use some acid-free non-yellowing sketching paper or at least some printer paper if it's meant to be a drawing, or, watercolor paper/ canvas etc. if you want it as a painting (with colors). If it's a drawing, the final lines are better dark (may be, you can use darker pencil/ charcoal/ indian ink etc.), but for a painting, lines better to be light. 2) Face is out of symmetry & proportions (to avoid this, you should be first making an overall large shape with a faint pencil, just concentrating on the proportions, and then add the minor details (building it up) with darker lines. Out of proportions is fine for a cartoon though. But it still looks like an unintentional mistake to have one part of the face skinny and other part chubby) 3) Probably copied from some drawings (though I'm not sure) -- copying is not actually wrong (artist copy human figures from live models, or still life or nature etc.) but, it's usually done as a part of larger artwork and not just meant to replicate exactly as it is (otherwise, why can't they just have a photograph?) Artists usually add some personal touches which makes it an "art" (otherwise its a "craft"). 5) However, I still like the "cuteness" and smile in the face in the drawing.

1|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• I like it a lot! It's really cute.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 11