Hey I have a question about braces... anyone who can help me?

hi! so im getting spacers on me teeth to get braces in a few weeks. i have been extremely reluctant to get them because i am very self concious and very insecure. so if anyone can and is will willing to help me it would be appreciated greatly.

1. do they make your lips stick out? it may sound liker a weird thing to ask but thats my main concern.
2. does anyone really notice or I don't know act diffrent when you first get them?
3. how badly does it hurt? and for how long?
4. i am a cheerleader so i do get hit in the face an awful lot... how bad does it hurt when you get hit in the mouth
5. can you give me some pros and cons of getting then?

this may not seem like a big deal to you but i am a freshman this year and i think first impressions are important. i dont just have to straighten my teeth i have to completely reposition my jaw. so i will have these for 4 years because the problem is so extensive... please help me. im sure this will make a difference and will help me feel a lot more at ease.

thank you.

0|0
3|4

Most Helpful Guy

• 1. They do not make your lips stick out. You might get some kind of habit of moving your lips over your braces in a specific way, so they don't scratch on your inner lip. Can't describe it, but I've seen it on some girl. She was tiny and her mouth was tiny so probably the braces were a bit more uncomfortable to her that it is for me. The doctor will provide you with some special wax that you can run over your braces if you feel your lips are getting hurt.

2. They notice. I have the ceramic ones from damon like these: www.owlorthodontics.com/innovative-technology-range-options-braces
    The elastics are white in the beginning, but if you eat (which you will), they get a bit more yellowish and then it starts to notice. But it's not that bad, it's noticeable from like 5 feet or less. Otherwise it's hard to notice.