Has anyone taken martial arts? What does it teach you about weapons?

Don't you think it's a bunch of false confidence to think that you are actually able to protect yourself from people that have knives and guns?

1|0
0|4

Most Helpful Guy

• Yeah, I studied Wing Chun Kung Fu while I was in high school. I loved it. I saved up $ with my kung fu brothers and we went to visit Ip Mans grave (Bruce Lees master). I met Ip Mans son, Ip Ching. Learning martial arts was probably the best decision I've ever made. It taught me so much...
    Anyway, to your question learning martial arts isn't only about protecting yourself, but knowing yourself more. Sure, it's the smart decision to avoid any type of fight but when it really comes down to the moment knowing ANYTHING about how to defend yourself is very valuable. Like all skills in life, to get better at something you must experience it first hand. So if you want to learn how to fight, you must learn about what fighting is and how to fight in such an organized and well practiced form. This way you aren't just stepping into a fight and being an unfamiliar naive person, you're more comfortable and focused about what to do.
    It's amazing how many forms of martial arts there are. Many are still being made this day. None are more inferior than the other, it honestly comes down to the disciple of the art. A smart disciple wouldn't choose to get in a fight with knives or guns unless they didn't have a choice. Martial arts helps you become familiar with self discipline and respect for others more than fighting, really...
    Basically what I mean is... Those who have a 'false confidence' about protecting themselves from knives and guns are pretty damn stupid. Lol

0|0
    0|0
    • the answer is pepper spray... other than that... eye gouging and biting...

• Show All
    • If they knew how to aim it, yes lol.

• yea basically...

What Girls Said 0

No girls shared opinions.

What Guys Said 3