Should an A student get equally punished for being late to classes (just as a mediocre student does)?

I'm currently in my last year of HS, taking easier classes to raise my 3.62 GPA (and relax a bit more) and it's working. Plus, I got tired of taking AP classes and studying too much.

During all my HS years I've been late to classes a couple times but hardly ever would get a detention. In my freshman year, I came late to math class 5 times, language arts twice and so on during the rest of the school years. However, I never went below a 3.52 and still can be considered the teacher's pet (for instance one day teaching the class as the teacher had to step out for a while or correcting math exams).

As always, there are the typical students that do poorly in grades and conduct as well as those with good conduct but mediocre grades. A couple of them were already getting a detention after the 2nd or 3rd time. A girl with several C's one day asked the math student ''But why isn't MelbaB getting a detention, she comes late more than I do'' and the teacher just changed the topic and still gave her a detention.

However, there is always a strict teacher; that one didn't care and gave me a detention right on the 2nd time. She knew my grades and overall good conduct but treated me as an equal, the same as if a mediocre student came late.

• Nah... as long as you're an A student and can catch up even when being late
    4% (1)18% (3)10% (4)Vote
  • Yes, there should be no differences... doesn't matter if you're the smartest one in the class
    96% (22)82% (14)90% (36)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy
Updates:
Certain days I would just come a bit late because I knew the class was easy and was just bored. Though, I would just be late by a couple mins, 10 at most.

1|0
1|5

Most Helpful Guy