Someone has to actually be dumb to repeat a grade, you agree or not?

When I was a freshman (now senior) there was a girl that repeated 8th grade once and then 9th grade twice. I also know of a guy that repeated 10th grade three times.

What these people had in common is they were the typical lazy types that like partying and think they're the center of attention. A couple others that repeated grades weren't even nice either.

• Yes, esp if you repeat a grade more than twice
    25% (9)22% (8)24% (17)Vote
  • No, they probably can't learn
    11% (4)3% (1)7% (5)Vote
  • Depends on what the reason was
    64% (23)75% (27)69% (50)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy
Updates:
I think the only reason I would understand is if it was some type of medical issues and he/she had to really be held back and then come back to complete the grade. Ok, but to just repeat for the heck of not even trying, getting lazy and failing most or all classes, no excuse.

1|0
15|17

Most Helpful Guy

• I've only known one person repeat a year (prior to university). And that was because he had a car accident and was litterally out of school for 8 1/2 months.

1|0
    0|0
    • That goes within the exception I've made. In that case, it's wasn't his fault.

• Yeah... I can see certain extenuation circumstances (a move, something huge happening in the family etc) causing a big enough screw up that you might need to repeat... but then... isn't that the only reason anyone does repeat a year prior to uni? And uni it's got more to do with the whole "wow I am an adult and can do whatever I want now" mindset getting people in trouble.

What Guys Said 16

• Lots of people have to repeat or "get left back" for reasons that have nothing whatsoever to do with their intelligence. For instance, if you have a prolonged absence and were out for much of the school year, then you will not advance and have to repeat that grade.

1|0
    0|0