Was this rude of these customers to do this?

I work in retail (clothes) and this lady and her mother came into the dressing room to try something on where I was and the daughter saw a top behind me on the hanger in the changing room and asked if we had it in her size (she said small) so I pointed to where she can find it in the shop and she said "well can you do it? since you work here"meaning can I go get it and the mother agreed with her.

0|0
15|18

Most Helpful Guy

• It's pretty common where I live if you're in the dressing rooms (or anywhere really) for the store employees to grab you things in their size.

I half get the impression it makes their lives easier vs. fixing the mangled pile after customers search through it. And they don't really want you going in and out of the dressing room and not sure if it's used, plus some of them are tracking how many items are in there.

So while I've never requested this without it being offered first, it's not an unusual thing for them to think would be a normal part of your job.

1|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• I don't know. honestly, it annoys me when I'm in a store and I ask someone who works there where to find something in particular and they tell me the aisles number or letter instead of actually showing me where exactly to find it. then when I ask someone to show me, more than half the times I ask they get upset about it

2|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 17

• don't think it's necessarily rude. the see a sales associate as a person who assists in making sales and so they believe you are sort of there to help

it is clearly lazy and perhaps somewhat entitled but i don't think it's rude. It's kind of the nature of the job unfortunately

2|1
    0|0
    • shoppers tend to be entitled believing that since they are supporting a business that business should be willing to do nearly anything they can to assist in the selling of a product.