Major Question about a pet cat?

I have the opportunity to take a one year old cat and I really want to! He's adorable and to be quite honest, I am lonely and sad a lot so I thought he'd cheer me up. But I also now, am really worried I won't be good enough for him. I'm a college student, and finances are already tight. I didn't do well last semester and I'm still coping with depression. Which I thought the cat could help me with, you know, cuddle me when I'm sad... But am I really ready for a 14 year commitment? I mean, my family has 2 cats, my grandma adopted 3 stray cats and animals like me a lot. I just, maybe this is too much right now? I just, saw his picture and kinda fell in love with him. But I live in a dorm room and I'm always moving around from place to place and I want to travel this summer... Help me!

0|0
2|1

Most Helpful Guy

• I've grown up with tons of pets, including several cats. I think you should go for it as long as you feel generally committed. I don't think you should think 14 years ahead (some cats can also become older by the way, one of our cats was 19 when it died). It's too scary to think so far ahead and there's always the possibility of giving the cat to someone else after a few years. For example my brother and his girlfriend had a cat for a couple of years but then they didn't have time for it anymore and so they gave it to their friend and neighbor who is around the same age. Now the cat lives there and she it didn't seem to mind the fact that its owner changed. She's still living a very nice life.