Correlation between artists (all kind of arts) and being socially liberal?

Well the question is based on my hypothesis that the vast majority of musicians and artists in general have a tendency to be socially liberal or progressive politically speaking. I was wondering why that was.

Updates:
I've come to the conclusion that if there's a correlation, it's because of creativity (something I already sort of expected) but the dilemma is if the creativity they have make them become left winged or if its their left wing mentality that makes them become creative. However, myself as a musician I'm left winged and I think it has happened both ways and I've become so progressive politically speaking that I'm practically apolitical. If you want to put a name to it, call me anarchist.

0|0
2|12

Most Helpful Girl

• Conservatives seem to like rules and restraints based often upon religious reasons, whereas liberals seem to like being without rules as long as there is no harm done to anyone. Creative people despise boxes, because creativity itself is like a free-flowing river. Although there are artistic conservatives for sure, ut makes sense that the vast majority accept or have alternatives ways of interpreting the world. Art itself is as limitless in its forms as it is beauitful.

1|1
    0|0
    • Of course Ms Fairy, you never disappoint me. You're wise, I hope you know it. :)

• That's not entirely true. Conservatives value life and preservation, as well as opportunity (but without guarantee of income.) Liberals value convenience and indulgence, as well as assurance of pre-desired results, even at the risk of having to decide who "doesn't matter" if they get in the way of those results.