Quarter Life Crisis: I feel like I'm shutting down at 23?

I don't know if I'm have a quarter life crisis or what. It's happened before when I felt overwhelmed by everything I had going on, but this time, I'm not really doing anything.

I'm a first year teacher who made it to my first summer of freedom and I feel lost. My days are usually so busy that I can't slow down enough to accomplish what I need for myself. It's always me busting my rear for my profession and barely remembering to take a shower. Now that I have that time for the first time in my life, I'm spending it on the couch, having a marathon of Mad Men because frankly, I don't know how to be outside of busy.

I've recently began dating two guys and I'm so torn about it. I've been nit-picking our interactions and driving myself crazy about our dates/things they've said and done because I'm not used to having all this time to think.

I packed up my bags and drove to the country, where my parents live. I'm currently on an air mattress in their living room, typing my heart away on GAG. This is because not long after I got my first place "of my own" out of college, they extended their bathroom into my bedroom that doesn't exist anymore. Lol.

I just feel this sense of being overwhelmed by nothing. Is that even possible? I'm overwhelmed by having all this free time and it's eating away at my conscious thought process, making me an overanalyzing freak who has no better way to spend her time than thinking about the guys I'm dating and eventually shutting down to where I want to do nothing.

I've literally not texted both guys back and they probably hate me right about now, as their texts were all from yesterday and it's about to be day two of nothing from me. I just frozen, shut off, and like I'm shutting down to protect myself from something I don't quite understand.

What the hell is going on? Quarter life crisis?

0|0
1|3

Most Helpful Guy