How can I feel better about being unemployed?

I've applied to a few places but I haven't got a response yet😞 I'm use to working and making money, going to school and getting good grades etc. Right now all I do is wake up, apply for jobs, and feel extremely bored😔. It's also getting in the way of my social life because going out takes money. How can I shake the blues that is coming over me?

1|1
5|19

Most Helpful Guy

• I am in exactly the same boat as you, I was a contractor, and the company I worked for had sudden and unexpected cutbacks. Permanent staff with much longer and more loyal service histories than I abruptly found themselves without a job, whereas I, who had been groomed for a permanent spot of my own (they liked my skillset), was suddenly not coming back in the following Monday.

Anyway, the advice I was given from another contractor who was also about to end his tenure, was to keep up a good routine, making sure that you keep some time in your schedule for yourself.

Get up at a reasonable time (as if you were going to work), drink coffee, check your emails, make calls. If you have interviews or meetings or events, go to them. If not, at least once a week, get out of the house during the day and do something! Go to the gym, go for a walk, clear your head and enjoy fresh air and a change of scenery. Don't continue job searching into the evening, eventually draw a line under it and enjoy some leisure.

Register with as many agencies as you can, they get permanent roles as well as temporary ones. I don't know where you live, but the government often operates job centres and websites too. Get your resume and covering letter in peak condition.

3|2
    0|0
    • Thanks for MHO. I had my first interview since my unexpected departure today, fingers crossed for you (and me)

• That's great! I'm praying & believing that you will get hired really, really soon! I went in for an interview after I wrote that and I got the job! All the best to u!!!