Do you handle death well?

I used to think I did. This is the first time I ever cried immediately after being told someone passed away.

Except im not sure if I'm crying because my grandpa died or if im crying because I'm a shitty person and the last time I saw him was Christmas. With no excuse on my end to not have gone to see him.

• Yes, I handle death well.
    57% (30)77% (37)66% (67)Vote
  • No, I do not handle death well.
    43% (23)23% (11)34% (34)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|1
22|33

Most Helpful Guy

• Death hits me a long time after a person has passed. I handle the passing very well and it's only years down the road that it really hits that they are gone.

1|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• I'm not afraid to die but I'm terrified of losing the people I love. There are some people who I would honestly rather die than lose.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 32

• No. I'm not good with death.

Maybe you thought he would live forever on some level, so you had time to see him later. Even with all the people around me who've died, I still feel that way about my parents. Like they've always been around, so they always will be around, even though I know the obvious. It's really the same with anyone else, too. All it takes is a second and they could be gone forever.

If you're always thinking about death, then that's really not a great way to live, though. So we don't think about it and forget how fragile and short it is. If you didn't realize that he would die at some point, then you really shouldn't blame yourself. You probably just thought that he would always be there, on some level, since he always had been.

Badness is relative. You're not a monster, because you didn't visit your grandfather every second before he died. Particularly if you weren't aware he was dying.

But if you want to make yourself feel better, watch some documentaries on psychopathic murderers. I'm sure you will feel a saint afterwards.