Do you think other intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe?

I'd like to think there is but the universe they say is around 14-15 billion years old and it took earth around 3 billion to get where it is now.
So that's a fair whack out of time the universe existed so there might not be another set of circumstances out there which have produced life and stability the same as the circumstances which produced the earth.

Maybe we're it and the universe is dispersing now so less new planets are forming.
Or maybe there were more planets with life closer to the start of the universe before earth existed. Say 5-7 billion years ago and those planets and solar systems are long gone now.

Perhaps we were late to the party.
What do you think?
(Apologies on my vague facts. I'm not a scientist or anything)

1|1
17|28

Most Helpful Girl

• I believe that primitive life is common but intelligent life is rare. Most life forms in outer space is probably microbial but a handful of them may be advanced enough to reach us. I bet there are really intelligent life forms out there but to search and contact them could end in our own destruction.

0|2
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Nah.. But other stupid life exists elsewhere in the universe for sure.

We can't be the only ones.

0|1
    0|0

What Girls Said 16

• There probably is other intelligent life. In fact, I bet there's lots and lots of other intelligent life.
    If you allow a sufficiently liberal definition of "intelligent life" -- say, including inanimate systems that are capable of "remembering" non-initial states, sorta like "circuit boards" made out of organic material -- then, tbh, there is probably intelligent life just about everyfreakin'where.

BUT...
    The probability that we'll actually be able to TELL that it's intelligent life... is almost certainly ≈ 0.

I mean, think about it.

• We live for a little under 100 years. Our spoken communication is in bursts of 1-5 seconds.