How do you know that deep down you love someone?

I've never had a crush/relationship before so I'm new to this stuff. How do you know you love someone deep down in your heart? Is it just intuition?

0|0
2|5

Most Helpful Guy

• Hmm, not even crush? That's interesting.

Crushes are usually kind of fantasies, inspired by imaginations. People gaze at others from a distance and their imaginations take over. It's something people generally grow out of at some point.

As to love, how people experience it is different.

In my case, I'd describe the act of falling in love as kind of like the girl becoming my oxygen supply. I can't live without her at that point and miss her all the time. That's a kind of intoxication phase though which doesn't last forever.

When that period is over, it starts to change from me missing her all the time to just not being able to stand being apart for a long time. That's where I am with my wife, where I can sometimes take her company for granted, but start feeling lost and incomplete when I go on overseas business trips where I'll already be missing her a lot the moment I step in the airplane.

0|0
    0|0
    • The best way I can think of to describe how I experience love is a sense of incompleteness, that suddenly this girl has become such a fundamental part of my being that I can't imagine living without her. And there was one time I reached that feeling and it didn't work out, and I was left devastated and had to kind of rebuild my entire life afterwards (and, in some sense, the person before that died).

I've only really had this feeling twice in my life. The second time I had it, I married the woman.