Why are so many in this Age so threatened or even worse, offended by B00BS?

Things like outrage over Serena William's nipples being prominent over a major tennis match or the sincerely RETARDED debate over where it is appropriate to Breastfeed

0|0
5|8

Most Helpful Girl

• It's crazy how people went nuts over something like that. It's just nipples.

What bothers me more though, is the use of the word "retarded" as a synonym for "stupid" or "ridiculous".

2|1
    0|0
    • I agree with you on his poor choice of the word retarded.

• Show All
    • @daremetwo Thank you. I often feel as though I'm alone when I call people out on their negative diction. I am a young teacher who has already come across many children and some adults (in my private music lessons) who have disabilities, like the students featured in the video I shared above. They are often the most uplifting and determined students. I have one young flute student with Down Syndrome, who just gave her first performance a couple of weeks ago at her school.

• I was merely making a comparison between the two words, not grouping them together as if you had used them in the same context. Both words are viewed as negative slurs in my country. The R word is NEVER used as a compliment, it's always used to insult or describe idiocy or stupidity. Case in point, your question details. I only made that comparison to point out how lenient this site is when it comes to allowing/disallowing language that marginalizes people.

I wholeheartedly disagree with your thinking that promoting the use of this word will diminish the stigma attached to it. People have been uttering it for decades on end and nothing about it has improved. If you're the kind of person who wants to see people as nothing less than a human being, then start by demonstrating that yourself. Recognize "retarded" people for WHO they are, not WHAT they are.

I'm sure we could run circles around each other all day on this topic and not get anywhere.