Adopted cat owners! What do I need to do/ consider when adopting a cat?

I'm brand new to this I really want a cat for companionship. I've been watching video and getting a little discouraged. Because I'm a Novice at this. what's the process? What to I need to look for when choosing a cat? don't know what cat to choose young or old. I heard you can over rubb a cat and they attack you, that's scary to me. I just want a friendly cat that will snuggle and curl up close to me. Who doesn't mind my touching them.

0|0
1|7

Most Helpful Guy

• Shelters and pet shops typically have rooms or pens where you can visit with a cat to see if he or she responds positively to you.

Don't be afraid to ask to visit with a cat who looks unfriendly while in a cage or while surrounded by a bunch of other cats. Sometimes they're just grumpy because they hate being kept in a cage or being surrounded by cats who incessantly meow or constantly want to play.

Don't overlook older cats. Everyone tends to want a kitten, and there are good reasons for it, including the extra years you get to spend together, but an older cat can still make for a great pal.

Don't rush to a decision. Spend as much time as it takes "trying out" cats to make a decision you're happy with. Remember, you can't save them all from living a crappy life in a shelter or winding up in a bad home. Feeling bad is not a good basis for making a decision, because you'd feel bad for most of those cats if you got to spend time with them.