When applying for a job, would it look better if I graduated with a bachelors from a state college, or a university?

I'm almost done with my AA, and soon I'm gonna have to focus on my bachelors. I'm at a state college now, and this college actually offers a bachelors for my major. (Secondary language arts education)
It would be A LOT cheaper for me if I were to stay at my state college to finish my bachelors, however when I apply for a job as a teacher, wouldn't it look bad? Say there was somebody else applying for my position. That person and I both have the same exact degree, but mine would be from a college and his/hers would be from a university.
Do you think it would look bad if I were to graduate from a state college? Should I just pay extra money to finish at a big university?

0|0
2|8

Most Helpful Guy

• That really depends on what you want to do. College discrimination is a real thing when looking for a job. Some interviews will only happen if you come from the right school. On top of that you have to consider which school will give you access to the most resource and will have the most future professional contacts. For instance here in LA UCLA has far more resources but if you go to USC you'll likely meet more future CEOs. Cal state northridge on their other hand offer neither of those perks but it is cheaper for the same degree. But again, getting the best possible job can often be knowing the right people. A UC alumni will always hire a competent UC grad before a competent cal state grad.

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl