Have you ever purposefully skipped out on jury duty? Anything happen to you?

I was all resigned to going to jury duty as I got a summons about a month ago, but the day I was to serve, I got really sick and so I just re-scheduled it. Then a week later, I got another jury summons for yet another court.

This is ridiculous. Out of the millions of people who live here, suddenly I have two summons?

One, I'm willing to go to, but now that I have two, this is over the top. Even the web address the summons gave to re-schedule doesn't even work (it is a legit summons though).

So has anyone ever dodged service and did anything happen like a fine/warrents/etc?

0|0
5|19

Most Helpful Guy

• I have never been on jury duty. I was sent a notice about 5 months after I graduated back in 1986. I was enrolled full time at Wayne State University at the time and just sent a letter to that effect. They excused me. That is the only Jury Duty notice I have ever received.

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• I ignored the letter I got once. Nothing happened. But I know it's our civic duty and if I ever get asked again, I'd def like to go. It could be an interesting crime and experience.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 18

• You shouldn't simply ignore the summons, just say you are racist and cannot possibly offer an impartial verdict should your case involve anyone of those races, I've used that one both times i've been called up.

I do wonder who can afford to take 2-8 weeks off work to deal with other people's problems? If they offered to match your salary as compensation i'd do it.

0|0
    0|0
    • 2mo

at least we're not Canada where you have to "volunteer" your time

• 2mo

Regarding your last point, it's kind of a major issue. The jury is meant to be a cross section of society, but it isn't. You get retirees, the unemployed, and workers in union positions that cover their full salary. Everyone else scrambles like mad to get out of it.