Reasoning Behind Learning New Languages Might Be.. Childish.. How to Cope with Desire to Quit?

To give you some background info here - I'm a college student who has decided to learn some new languages while I study - Spanish (more or less relearning this one), German, Japanese, and Korean.

I realize Spanish is considered a "useful" language, and German can also be considered useful (though maybe not on the same level as Spanish or English), so my reasoning for those languages is considered acceptable by my peers/family..

Japanese and Korean, however, are another story..

Japanese has always sounded very smooth to me. I feel like it's a very cute language, and Japanese culture has always fascinated me.. This is my reasoning for Japanese, and yes, it sounds childish..

With Korean, my reasoning is even more weird than with Japanese.. I'd like to learn it so that I can send a letter to a group of people, in their native language, to make them feel more comfortable.. I'd like to reach out to them, make friends with them, etc.. The chances that they would send any sort of reply are extremely small, but I would rather do it and regret it, than never to have done it, and regret that.

My reasoning behind learning is most definitely childish, and I understand that. But at the same time, I find it difficult to keep going sometimes, when it seems like I'm all alone in studying them. What I would really like is some sort of reassurance.. Something that I can think of, when I feel like quitting.. Anything, really. I just want to keep going.

0|0
3|2

What Guys Said 2