My girlfriend decided that its better if we become friends. Whats the first thing I should do after a break up?

Long story short: We dated for ±7 months we did fight twice during that period but nothing serious About 3 hours ago i got the "its better if we stay just friends" text
I freaked out and told her i regret meeting her etc
she started begging me that she doesn't want to lose me as a friend and that from her prespective the relationship lost the spark
i just blocked her cuz i know she is already dating someone else.

i don't want her back i want to get over her.
what do i do.
(this is my first time getting dumped in a break up...)

Updates:
thanks everyone for ur answers

altho i was feeling like i can survive this right after the break up

i just randomly started crying when she texted me on facebook saying she loved me and doesn't know what happened
i didn't answer and blocked her off facebook as well

just wanted to say i feel like a piece of shit crying when i am 17.

0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• The first thing you should do is: meditate on whether you can remain just friends with an ex... someone you still have feelings for. Personally, I couldn't because I would find it too painful. You have to be an emotionally strong person to just be friends.

Ask yourself which will cause you the greatest pain... remaining friends , and having to watch someone you love. ... love someone else. Or cutting all ties and work on letting her go.

You can't build a happy future while you are still clinging onto the past. Holding on is much more painful than letting go. You'll never find the right person... if you never let go of the wrong one.