Is it time to break up after 3 years?

My boyfriend and I have been together for 3 years and I guess we should've sorted it out sooner but he just asked me to marry him.
I said yes but he wants me to quit my job and be a stay at home wife. I'm not okay with that at all. I sat down and talked it out with him and tried seeing it from his point of view. He said the man should provide but I studied hard for my job and I am 100% committed. I'm being promoted to a very good position in a very successful company why would I want to give that up when it's been my dream? I've tried telling him all this but he said he wants a stay at home wife and anything else would make him unhappy. Is it time to breakup or is there a way to negotiate?

i should also add being financially supported by anyone else but myself makes me very uncomfortable

Updates:
I understand we should've discussed it but when the subject of marriage was brought up previously he never mentioned wanting me to quit my job and I didn't say anything because I didn't think it was a problem or even an option

0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Don't quit your job and don't marry this guy, even if he gives in. This is a complete deal breaker. He is threatened by your success and he won't support you in your career. He will always want you to stop working. If you have a child then he will really put the pressure on. Find a guy who is proud of the work you do and wants to help you succeed. In all seriousness, marrying this guy could ruin your life.

See "The Feminine Mistake". www.amazon.com/.../1401309380

5|1
    0|0
    • You are right to refuse to become financially dependent. That traps you in a marriage that may or may not work. Someone who loves you will not ask you to abandon something you care about. And "Ruin your life" is no exaggeration either. My girlfriend settled for a marriage and her ex pressured her into abandoning a promising career. Twenty years later she had a very difficult time getting hired.