She told me our religious differences wouldn't work out but I can't help feeling like its something else?

Last week, my (now ex) girlfriend and I had a conversation about religion. she's a devout Christian and goes to church regularly and stuff. I've been baptised as a child and my family is religious but being a science student, I can't believe in something I can't prove. I told her that its highly probable that there is a higher being/power, but I wouldn't put my faith in it unless I can prove it. But that said, I told her I'm always open to learning about religion and I respect her beliefs. I would always support her religious beliefs and practices and open to the idea. She told me that's fine.

I had to leave town the next day and we didn't talk much. The next day, I noticed our Snapchat streak ended because she never sent me a snap back. We've kept our streak going from the day we met to when we started dating and it meant a lot to both of us

I figured something was wrong and I asked her to snap me anyways and maybe we'd be able to recover it. She changed the topic and basically refused to snap me. I was a bit worried and we didn't talk much. Later that day, I messaged her telling her I loved her and I was scared of losing her and I hoped everything was okay. She told me she loved me too

That night, she messaged me telling me our timing was off but she still loved me. She eventually told me she wanted to break up. I kept asking her what was wrong but she wouldn't tell me. After hours and hours, she finally said it was because she "had a relationship with God and she needs someone who does too". She told me she knew we would run into problems in the future because of this. I told her we once made a promise to each other to always fight and never give up on us. We could give it a shot and try but she said no