A Temporary Break-Up?

I've been doing some deep thinking about the future of my relationship. I am a sophomore in high school, and my girlfriend is a senior. Of course, she'll be leaving for college at the end of next summer, essentially putting us in two different worlds.

I care for this girl more than I can type here. I want nothing but for her to be happy. I know she will be happy as a clam exploring all the new opportunities college will offer her. I am more than aware that among these will be several temptations, including hot older guys and wild parties. Although I know she is mature enough to avoid these temptations, I don't want to force her to do so for me. Doing so may lead to her having a lesser overall experience, as well as resentment toward me as a result.

I've also been pondering how we would visit and communicate in a long-distance relationship. Again, while I know she and I could pull it off, I would be forcing her to choose between the new life she will be developing and me. It doesn't feel right to me for me to put this pressure on her. I know it will be hard enough already for her to leave home. The least I can do is ensure she has fun at college, where her focus is supposed to be.

The way I'm envisioning this is that we put the relationship on hold until we are able to meet each others' needs without the distractions school presents. We would still be able to communicate over the phone and on Facebook. Later down the road, we'd be able to pick up the relationship, stronger than it ever was (don't forget, absence creates attraction).

Finally, it goes without saying that she's still developing as a person, finding out who she wants to be and whatnot. I want her to have the freedom to decide whether or not she sees a future with me. If the answer ends up being no, and she finds a guy who is everything to her that I'm not, I'll be happy for her, if she's happy with him. If yes, then we'll be able to continue on together, as happy as we are now.