Should I break up for my better interest or make things better by talking?

Now, I'll start with the basics. I am 20 years old, and my boyfriend and I are 11 years apart. We've been together for 2 1/2 years now. I am a sophomore in college and have lived in a town of 100 people, a high school of 200 people until I did attend college last year. I love this man, I do, and we've gone through our ups and downs like any relationship has. We've very rarely had a full-out fight, but that's mostly because I am very considerate and I am often the one to back off. I'd rather him be happy than try to defend something that seems... not important after I think about it. I care very much about him.

Its just... I've done bad things. I did cheat on him a couple times and he knows about them, we broke up over it this summer and he took me back a week later. Of course, the trust is strained and he gets nervous if I have interactions with guys, such as a phone call or text on my phone. To ease his insecurities, I gave him permission to look through my texts... and he has done so twice with me sitting right there. There is always temptation, but I would rightly feel like I was betraying him if I gave in to them. I understand temptation is normal, but the fact that I so desperately want a rush, my heart to race and leap into my throat... I don't get that anymore.

I love him, I love cuddling with him... he's the off button to my anxiety with physical contact but he's also been my emotional crutch. I get clingy, and he makes me feel clingy.

He is bipolar as well and is easily irritated. Usually, I can be the one to soothe that irritation, but I've always also tried my damnedest not to irritate him. I give him much more than he gives me. He can be a sweetheart and I love him for it so much...

But I'm young. I work, I go to college, I have friends who I have most definitely deprived because I'd rather be with him... and there's a lot I'd like to experience.