Not sure if my Ex Girlfriend wants to get back together? Is she being Genuine? Confused and need advice

Over a year ago I was living and studying in New Zealand (from New York) and met a Chinese girl that I started dating for about a month. Soon after, our relationship went into a sort of grey zone for the next 5-6 months (she wanted to take a step back and see what happens).

We were basically together almost every day studying (she was doing a PhD and I was doing a Master's) in the same area, meeting up, and acting as though we were in a relationship, without the romance. Despite some good moments, she treated me pretty badly at times during this period and exploited some help I gave her with editing a paper.

Anyway, I finished my Masters in June and I decided to go home in June for several months mainly because she wanted me to come along with her on a trip to Canada (she had to do a PhD conference at UBC and really wanted me to go with her). Though the first few days I focused on helping her through the conference, we had a great time and soon parted ways.

Every other day she would message me saying how much she missed me but at the same time asked for help with academic material (she had to hand in her finished proposal in September). She knew I was coming back but within a month started seeing someone else and didn't tell me until I finally confronted her on it due to the way she was acting. I tried to settle it and ultimately she ended up choosing him over me. She wanted to remain "best friends" and said it wasn't fair otherwise.