A 26 year old dating a 48 year old? Thoughts?

I'm a college student and he's a professor- but not in my department.

Updates:
Just to be clear: He is not MY professor - he won't have anything to do with my grades!

0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Here are my thoughts, from a relationship coaching lens.

1) Dating someone 22 years older than you, from my lens, isn't an issue. Notice I said dating. Dating is having fun, getting to know someone, sharing similar hobbies, conversation topics, etc.

2) A relationship between two people that are 22 years apart is a whole different ball of wax. Why? Two reasons: 1. Difference physical appetites; 2. Different social comforts.

3) This isn't to say that two people that are 22 years apart never work out, it can happen but it does not work out a lot more often than it does. 10 years and 500 clients into this gig--I can tell you this with certainty.

So just ask yourself, am I dating this guy or am I looking for the long game with this guy?

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• while it's too wide of a gap for me personally, i think you're safe as long as you are both consenting adults and you never have a class with him.

worth noting: at my university, you still have to take distribution requirements (aka classes that have nothing to do with your degree); if that's the case at your school as well, it is possible for you to end up in one of his classes, so be mindful of what he teaches and steer clear if you can.

0|0
    0|0

Have an opinion?

What Guys Said 22

• I've always been a stalwart advocate for love beyond age. But you have a responsibility to make sure you are in it for the right reasons, and that he isn't trying to take advantage of you. It can be tricky, but if you're both honest and mature about it, there's really no problem.

0|0
    0|0