I'm in need of some genuine advice. What is going on? Should I give him a week?

Long story short, I've been talking to this guy for about 8 months. We both live in different states. Last time I saw him was in October when I went to go visit him. I was supposed to go visit him again the last week of February. He was so excited for me to come, he wanted to pick me up from the airport and I was going to spend the weekend at his place. He even wanted to take me to his friends birthday party. But, a family emergency came up and I couldn't anymore.

I then told him that I want to come as soon as possible and I want to reschedule my flight. He then said that he still wants to see me, but he pictured me coming in the summer. I got pissed off. We got into a big fight. He said he was done, and that this was becoming too much for him. But eventually we agreed to not contact each other for a while.

I got him a present though, so I sent him it. I then texted him to see if he got it. He said he got it the previous day, which I thought was pretty shitty since he didn't text me. He then said "I don't think you have bad handwriting, lol I really like it, and the letter was so sweet to read, I haven't received a handwritten letter in over a decade."

I then texted him the next day and asked if we could talk on the phone. He said of course we can talk but he won't be home until late (he recently moved back in with his parents who he does not get along with).

Of course, we never talked like always. I then texted him the next day to see if we could talk because I wanted to know where we stand. He then said "I'm sorry, I'm in the middle of some things, I don't know when I'll be able to talk but I will let you know."