Should I care that there isn't a label on what we have?

I've been talking to this guy for a couple months now, long distance. We've only met once, but he is planning on coming to visit in February. He recently told me that he loves me, and he had a moment yesterday where he was worried that I would get bored of him. He calls me his girl all the time. He keeps saying that he wants me in his life, that he looks forward to our future together, but we are not technically dating or whatever, so I am just unsure of what to say or do. I know my family will be asking about boyfriends over Christmas break and I don't know what to say to them. I don't really feel like it is that big of a deal, but my mind is overthinking it, so I don't know

0|0

Recommended Questions

Have an opinion?

What Guys Said 1

• I wouldn't worry about the label. I'd just tell them the situation as you described it. You're communicating with a guy long distance but have only met him once. He seems to really like you and you'll be getting together again in February and will see how it goes.

I've been in a relationship where there was no good label either and it is a little awkward that you can't just use one word to describe it, but we just used a couple sentences instead of just one word.

1|0
    0|0
    • I'll add that I think you're approaching this thing better than he is. I personally don't know how someone can be in love with a person they've only met once. Yes, it's possible to develop a strong connection electronically, but I don't really understand being in love with someone until you're around them for a while and do things together.

You seem to be more cautious about the relationship and I think that's wise. Maybe it will be great when you get to spend time together, but I personally would wait until you've spent a good bit of time together in person to make any grand declarations of love. I don't think those are words that should be tossed around easily.

• Show All