Do you talk on phone to someone you just met online?

I'm new to online dating and find after a couple of messages some guys ask for my number or give me theirs. I'm not a fan of talking on the phone, especially to someone I don't know. I will make business related calls because there is a purpose - usually I want something. But a personal call to someone I don't know seems weird to me. Anyone else feel that way? Or do you like to call?

0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Getting a number is how you filter out the people that are just going to message forever and never move past that stage. I wouldn't hand my number out right away, but it's something you should expect to do before meeting someone.

0|0
    0|0
    THIS IS NOT RELEVANT ANYMORE
    • Why should you do it before meeting them?
      Would you call them up and chat?

• Show All
    • I see. I guess we all have different ideas of the natural progression... meeting online doesn't feel natural at all lol.

• Well no, I suppose you're right. It's a strange world we live in.

Most Helpful Girl

• No that stresses me out. I don’t like talking on the phone either but it could be a good thing of you’re planning to meet the person

0|0
    0|0
    THIS IS NOT RELEVANT ANYMORE
    • Yes stresses me out too!!

Recommended Questions

Have an opinion?

What Guys Said 15

• It helps to prove that you're not catfishing or a con artist or trying to scam someone out of money they won't actually know if you're a real person it is very hard to date online

0|1
    0|0
    • How does a phone call prove that? If I was a con artist I would be good at sweet talking and just talk to them on the phone as well.

• Show All
    • Proves your a person not a bot

• I guess so. Thanks for sharing your thoughts

• When I meet a woman through (i. e.) Tinder, I like to chat with her for 1-2 days, to get to know her a little, but then I prefer to talk, either on phone or face to face.