He wanted to friendzone me "and see what happens". I refused. Did I do the right thing?

I will try to make this short. I have been talking to this man who met me on the internet for 5 months. We live in different states. Both of us are financially stable. At first, he was contacting me every 2-3 weeks. When we talked, he seemed to like me, but then he would disappear. Finally, I got frustrated and said I will talk to him when he is ready to make me a priority. I thought he will stop talking to me after that, but he didn't. He actually started talking to me more often (on the phone and through messages). I thought things were going well, we were making plans to meet. One time he didn't reply to my message, and I became upset about it. He became angry and said things should be blissful in the beginning, and there is nothing but drama. Many times I told him that I cannot fully and accurately express myself through messages and phone only, he needs to see me to get to really know me. I told him that it is taking me some time to develop trust because I've never met him in person. I apologized for being upset with him, said that I believe there are a lot of good things between us, and I am willing to work on any issues that I have. He continued criticizing me. I wanted to stop the drama and said "If you find that you like me enough to forgive me, I will be happy. If not, I wish you the best". He thought about it for a day and then said "I think we should be just friends for now and see what happens. I hope we still can talk". I replied "Sorry, but no. This tells me that you don't like me enough, and that is not attractive to me". He replied "Ok then. Bye". I said "Best wishes", and we never talked since. I felt that I was strung along for long enough, it was wearing me out. If he really liked me, he would make a step towards me. Any thoughts?

0|0

Most Helpful Girl