Guy I’m seeing jokes about me seeing someone else, is that a red flag?

Long story short, this guy and I have been talking for two months. He asked me out on a date and I said yes, however, sometimes he jokes that I should date someone else. For example, I almost cut my hand while cooking, and he said that I should date a doctor instead. I don’t know if he actually means it when he jokes about me dating someone else or if he’s insecure?

0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Do you think he's fishing for you to say like I don't want anyone else sort of cos that's what it sounds like. But that isn't a bad thing , better than a cockey shit full of themselves?

1|2
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• Definitely signs of insecurity! sucks that so early into dating he already thinks like that. For sure if you end up in a relationship, it may get worse?

1|0
    0|0

Recommended Questions

Have an opinion?

What Girls & Guys Said

• I think he might be testing your loyalty - guys want loyal girls.

0|0
    0|1
  • Well, considering the context of the single joke given I would say it was all in good faith. Otherwise, if it's a fairly consistent thing you might consider it his own insecuritys.

1|0
    0|0
  • He probably has some insecurities, but nothing massive, just tell him you wouldn't want to date anyone else the next time he says something like that.

1|1
    0|0
  • Unless you have more examples, this sounds like nothing. Just an off-hand self-deprecating very mild joke that anyone would make.

1|1
    0|0
  • He is probably insecure but i can't say for what reason. Maybe lack of self confidence, jelousy, control, etc... Think about why he must feel like that. Maybe he wasn't loved as a child or he was betrayed and now he can't trust so easily.
    For example if he is just insecure for example you could grab his palm and place it on your bandaged wound and tell him that his warmth is enough :3
    Good luck

1|0
    0|0