Songwriters... any advice for me?

so I've been working with music for awhile (guitar, metal and some rock n roll style) I'm kinda considering doing a little songwriting (lyric wise) too. I'm a total newbie to it all, but wanna try. anyone got advice for me? my focus is on heavier music but advice from any part of the music spectrum is welcome.

thanks!

Songwriters... any advice for me?
Updates:

0|2

Most Helpful Guy

• I taught myself songwriting (progressive metalcore mainly, but sometimes I write acoustic pieces). I used to make really cringe songs, but after lots of work, I believe they’re actually decent.

My advice in writing songs is firstly to practice the everliving crap out of it. Songwriting is like learning a new instrument. Your first songs will be total pieces of cringe, but these will pave the way for better compositions. Lyrics is the same deal. Oh boy— I lie awake at night remembering some of the cringe I’ve written. Share them with other people though. Get honest feedback, and work from there.

Secondly, to help you write, I *strongly* suggest guitar pro 7 (or 6) or some notation software to help you out. Putting your ideas into notation software makes them more concrete. It shows where your weak points are in the song, and it also makes it easier to organize/share. Guitar pro is useful particularly, because it lets you export to midi/pdf/wav to play back your piece or show bandmates without having to spend hours recording it (only to change it later). Heck, I’ve even written songs straight in guitar pro without ever picking up a guitar before. It’s possibly the best cost to benefit music purchase I’ve gotten yet.