Ladies, how long does a gel mani last for you?

I've been doing my own gels for a few years and the brands I use all claim you should get two weeks of wear before chipping, but I only ever seem to get 4-5 days before a nail starts to lift or chip.
I do a few friends and my mums and they all get much longer so I don't think it's my product?
How long does a mani last on you before it starts to wear? Does anyone else have any experience with gels?

0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• I have no expierence with gels xD maybe your nails grow faster and that's why the chip? More surface area causing the harden gel to try and spread? Or am I talking through my ass? XD

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• I do them by myself too and it takes 2 weeks. then they get off on the bottom.

0|0
    0|0
    • lol it has to be something I'm doing, I can't find anyone who has this problem

• Show All
    • primer dehydrates the nails and makes the gel stay much better

• I ment for cleaning nails :) I'm not sure about my English skills.

Recommended Questions

Have an opinion?

What Guys Said 3

What Girls Said 18

• Usually around a week but my nails tend to grow out quick.

0|0
    0|0
  • If I do gel (shellac) nails, I get them done professionally and they last me a good 2 weeks to a month if I don't do heavy duty things to overwork my hands and wreck my nails.

1|0
    0|0
    • I got a pro one today so I'm hoping it'll last longer! It's so annoying having to remove them every week lol

• Show All
    • No, I'm a programmer πŸ˜› You'd think that would give me a bit more. But yes, fingers crossed it lasts then I can figure out if it's my technique or products

• I got six days, and I could just peel the gel off and my nail bed looks perfectly fine and healthy lol. I think it's just my nails πŸ™ˆ

• Never done it. Heard others say 2 weeks done at salon. Home... not sure.

I get my reg. mani, pedi.