MAC vs. PC which one should I buy?

Im a college freshman going into the spring semester in a week, I need a new laptop due to the one I have is a netbook and have had it since sophomore year in high school. My dad will be buying me the laptop so money is not a problem. I want to get something that will make it through college and after that for my career. Any good laptop is an investment. I have used a MAC ihome when I took summer school the summer before senior year. It was obviously different from using a PC but after playing with it a minutes I got the hang of it.

Please help!

If you have a MAC why do you like it better than PC? Did you switch from PC to MAC?

If you have a PC have you ever used a MAC? Would you switch to MAC since all the new laptops have the new windows 8 system?

Updates:
Take in mind that all new laptops have windows 8 which is much different from the older system that I like much better

0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• PC. Here's why...

The future of laptops is rather grim, in that technology is transitioning to a new era of touch screen technology. Windows 8 is symbolic of this transition, as it's best features operate on touch/swipe user input. As for Apple's current OS, they are still lagging behind on laptops and PCs. So if the next laptop you buy is indeed a MAC, you'll lose out on this feature for another 1-2 years. Not only that, Macs are notorious for being impossible to upgrade (in terms of hardware), whereas PCs are generally upgrade friendly.