Should I drop college?

I am a freshman at college but I feel college, specially community college, is holding me back from developing my career as a computer scientists. I wasn't able to go to my college of choice due to financial reasons and now I am stuck at a community college for the next 2 - 3 years and I feel I could develop my career in my field much faster if instead of spending 12 hours a day on college related things, I spent it actually programming and developing my own projects. I take my brother as an example he wasn't able to go to college for the same reasons as me but he has being learning how to program on his own for about 2 - 3 years and now he is about to publish his first mobile game on the Google App store (and he has only being doing this on his spare time). I know most junior college students don't have enough experience to develop such a complex project. Now going back to me, I am going to spend the next 2 - 3 years at college and I am only going to take 2 classes related to my major from which I won't be learning anything new since I am far ahead of the material covered in class. I feel if I instead of putting that much work into General Ed at college I instead put that energy into programming I would develop my skills much faster.

Should I drop college?

Updates:
So I gave it a thought and I think it is better if transfer to a different school that offers more classes in my field of study. I already made some research, and I think I know which school I am going to transfer to, good thing my current college and that college are on the same system and all classes are transferable between the two campuses, and since the are in the same system they charge the same rate per unit.

0|0

Most Helpful Guy