How can a 21-year-old woman who still lives at home deal with an intrusive family? Please see details.

I'm quite introverted, but want to start dating. The problem is that most guys my age aren't what I'm looking for... so I've recently tried my hand at the game of online dating. I'm going to school in Wisconsin and have met 2 guys who live near my hometown in Illinois. I'm hoping to get to know them, and maybe start dating over the summer.

The only problem... I added one one Facebook recently. 5 minutes later, my controlling and nosey 18-year-old sister logged on and started playing 20 questions with me about my new "friend." If I can't deal with her, I know she'll be telling my mom... and I'll have to deal with both of them.

I am a full-time student, and taking classes over the summer, so getting/keeping a job and moving out would be difficult. I need to find a way to deal with them while I'm at home.

What should I say/do to keep them out of my hair and let me live my own life and meet people the way that's convenient for me?

0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• I don't think the hiding from them would help.. I think you should tell them what you want from life .. know what they expect from you and why do they do that ?

If your parents turn to supportive.. they could be a huge positive influence in your life.. so before you try to hide from them.. ( to which I don't necessarily blame you ) I think you should talk to them.. like in an adult manner... don't speak to them as your parents but speak to them as an adult to adult.. tell them that you want them as a support and a loving family... as a source of advice but not as a sort of regret machine..

This talk would get them thinking.. they will start thinking you are changing now and they need to have a new strategy... I am saying this because it is good to salvage something good from your parents before you write them off completely... it would give you confidence in your future and knowing you have a back to rely on.