What to do to become less cautious driver?

Here is the thing... I've only been driving maybe 2-3 months. That is legally speaking... when I was younger I was a rebel kid so when I was 11 I would take the car and drive lol. However... so far as legally goes it's only been recently. Sadly my dad is dead so it's just me and my mom. My mom is a restricted and panicky driver. She doesn't drive anywhere besides works, grocery store, my school, or near by places. I tried driving on the high way and it was scary as f**k. I am somebody who doesn't like danger and I'm also a perfectionist. I have to set my GPS to avoid toll roads and highways (illness traffic plus is safer). The problem is I drive like my mom right now... actually scratch that I drive better than her. I'm not afraid to drive far. The thing is I'm a very cautious driver but that also has to do with cautiousness because the drivers where I live suck. All these damn Yankees and Californians keep moving and it's like they're during it into LA. The people here do not signal when they turn, are too aggressive and fast, are always on their phones, the pedestrians on college campuses are morons who walk on to incoming traffic, and most don't follow the speed limit. I actually signal all the time, double check when murging, and am not reckless. The complaint a friend has "you're actually a very good driver but the thing is you're slow". I actually drive the speed limit if not 5 miles under the speed limit. Maybe 10-15miles less if it's raining badly and is effecting the way I drive. Also they kept telling to to speed or beat yellow lights and I wouldn't do it. I actually slow down when it's yellow. Also, I driver our family's old 97' car and it drives differently than modern cars and a lot of people won't understand that. I break more, I can drive fast but not too fast (both instinct and car consideration) plus it's so old that even mechanics tell me to get new cars lol. What can I do to become less of a "cautious dr