I recently had to block one of my ex’s who kept constantly harassing me. He threatened to use our old conversations to humiliate me as well as explicit photos and messages we shared to put me in a bad light. I’m considering deleting the account and creating a new one but someone told me the chat will still exist but will not be in my username anymore. Is that true? Does this apply for the person still having access to old messages? I know Instagram has a feature where you can unsend a messages but I deleted the conversations when we were dating once we broke up a year ago so what should I do?
Most Helpful Opinions
From what I understand, they will still see the conversation thread up to 24 hours after you initiated the block. Once it hits 24 hours. They can no longer see you or the conversation they had with you0
What Girls & Guys Said
I have no idea, but I would assume the messages would be deleted.0
Click "Show More" for your mentions
Most Helpful Opinion(mho) Rate.
Even if you delete your account, the other person will have those messages, unfortunately. When you block someone, the conversation between you two will be removed, but they will still have the messages.
If the conversation is removed, then how will they still have the messages?
The other person will have the messages unless they also delete the conversation.