Should I leave my stressful cashier job?

Hi!
I've been working as a cashier for about 6 months now and I really hate it. This job stresses me out. For example, I always work on Saturday morning and because of that, I sleep terribly on Friday night (Im half asleep, or wake up in the middle of the night). Then, when I wake up at 7am on Saturday, I'm often out of breath, my heart beats really fast and I have cold sweats. When I get to work, I often get headaches and stomach cramps due to stress. I feel like this job is making me sick and I don't know what to do about it. I told my boss I was going to leave but now I'm not sure anymore. She gave me until tomorrow to make my last decision. I do wanna leave because of how this job is affecting my health but the thing is, if I leave I'll find myself with little to no money in a short amount of time. My family is telling me that I shouldn't leave and I should fight the stress (which I've tried doing for 6 months). And a friend of mine who also suffers from anxiety told me that I should leave if my job makes me feel that way. What should I do? :(

• You should leave your job, health before money.
    100% (9)90% (9)95% (18)Vote
  • You should stay and deal with the stress, it's better than being broke.
    0% (0)10% (1)5% (1)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|0
3|10

Most Helpful Guy

• You do have some money saved correct? It sounds like you do have some severe anxiety and should talk to a professional about that ASAP. In fact, many times they ask you if these symptoms interfere with your work, or have caused you to miss work.

Bottom line, health first, crappy minimum wage cashier job... last! Quit and get the help you need :)

0|0
    0|0
    • I started seeing a psychologist not too long ago. I don't know if staying at this job would help me fight my anxiety.

• Show All
    • If I were you until I was able to be stabilized I would leave definitely.

• Thank you for caring, I will think about it (: