Would you rather get dumped before exams or have your girlfriend lead you on until you're done them?

I have to break up with my boyfriend of 2.5 months. The only problem is he starts exams in a few days for 11 days. After that is Christmas, both of which I will likely be ruining for him.

As a student I understand how this would be bad before exams but I also wouldn't want someone to be pity dating me which I would have to be doing and will just have to cancel our plans/lie because I don't want to kiss/sleep with him.

We only see each other ~8 or so hours a week so is it possible he might not take it so bad?

I feel really bad :s He's a great guy I just NEVER get to see him, have no emotional connection and am reconciling with my ex.

Updates:
What do I do in the mean time?!?!?!?

I don't want to see or hang out with him to lead him on.
Thanks for the advice.

In my catch22, lose-lose situation I've decided I'd rather him hate me for being a shit girlfriend than causing him to fail/do badly in his (really hard) courses.

0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• I don't know if you'll see this, but I figure I'll throw in my two cents.

I was in this exact situation in my sophomore year of college, except I was breaking up with my then girlfriend. I took the "wait because I don't want her to fail exams" route and regretted it almost immediately. It was a terrible thing to do to her, she felt worse that I had led her on. What's worse is that she KNEW something was wrong, because I wasn't myself. Due to our schedules we barely saw eachother during exam week (like at all), and I had made this decision right at the beginning of the week. Well once you get home for Christmas, you have nothing but time. I felt really guilty the whole time, and since I wasn't being normal it pretty much ruined both of our Christmases anyway.