Would you date someone with a dark past?

Growing up I didn't always have the easiest life.
When I was 17 my life turned upside down,
Life kept throwing constant blows my way.
Family issues, some abuse, and relationship issues.
I fell into depression for a couple of years.
I'm now 23. Trying to change my life for the best.
Went back to college (Started last year)
I did gain some weight because of my depression
But I've been hitting the gym for 2 months now.
Seeing results *Yay* :)

I got out of a serious relationship like 8 months ago.
I'm kind of scared to start dating, because of my past.
Also I'm embarrassed that I haven't finished college
and because I gained weight.
I'm thinking all of this is going to be a problem
when I start dating, or finding a decent guy.

Updates:
My last relationship lasted 5 years.

0|0
1|5

Most Helpful Guy

• Listen, Anon, your past doesn't make you who you are. If the guy is worth anything, he'll appreciate you for who you ARE, not a bunch of things that happened in the past. I'm not going to inquire what went on during that "dark time," but we've ALL had and done stuff that we're not very proud of. However, our past doesn't define us.

These bad aspects of your past aren't something you should up and bring up with him first time meeting him. Share what you're comfortable with him, and maybe some day in the future, you can tell him about all that bad stuff, but you really aren't obligated to share ANY of that stuff with him.

You're you, and that's what's important :)

... and furthermore, your weight doesn't affect who you are as a person either. And I didn't finish college till I was 27 and my wife still married me anyways ;)

0|0
    0|0
    • In all honesty I am terrified of dating, I've seem to run into guys who are really shallow.
      & I feel like I need to explain why I am behind in school because of my past.
      When I do share it seems like they don't really care, or taken back by it.
      (Maybe they're just assholes)