Does your voice change when you speak a different language?

Maybe not so obvious of a change, but perhaps only a slight changes in the tone of your voice. I don't know about everyone, but I noticed that whenever my friends and I talk in English and when we suddenly change to Korean or Mandarin for that matter, our tone kinda change a little as well.

I even got so bored to the extend of doing a recording just to see if I'm right or I'm going crazy. 😂😂 I like my voice when I'm speaking Korean but not when I speak English. 🙈

2|1
26|20

Most Helpful Guy

• Yes, I have a deeper voice in Spanish than in English. Not that it's a completely different voice, but it does change a little.

1|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• I've been told it does change a bit, ever so slightly. When I speak French, it's the same as my English voice. I've been speaking French since before I was 2 years old, though (I learned it at the same time as English). I personally think my Spanish and Italian voice/tone and speed is the same as well. But I've been told when I speak Dutch, German or Russian, my voice goes deeper and a bit slower.

I'm not fluent in any of these by the way. I have friends from all over, and when they try to teach me some phrases or enough to understand, they noticed a slight change. I think it's because I'm struggling to get the pronunciation correct.

1|0
    0|0
    • Yeahh I've been noticing that in my friends too, and vice versa. Whenever I teach them simple Mandarin phrases I noticed their voice/speed goes slower than how they usually speak. Mandarin is a hard language to master the pronunciation ahah 😅

• Show All
    • Yeah, I supposed so. I picked up Korean pree quickly and it's almost the same as Mandarin for me, only thing Mandarin has those pronunciation tone where there's a first, second, third and forth tone. My voice goes deeper when I speak my national language as well.

• Hmm, it's definitely interesting! :)

What Guys Said 19