Monster Magnet's "Powertrip" Record

Monster Magnet's "Powertrip" Record

Hell yea \\m//

First off, pardon me if I miss any special info about this album or the band. This is a band I've been learning about so I don't know their full history and stuff just yet. This myTake will probably be a little smaller than most of my other ones.

So Monster Magnet's "Powertrip" album is another album in my collection of weird rock and metal music. The band is known mainly for more of a underground stoner rock/psychedelic rock type sound, along with punk. Mainly influenced by bands such as Hawkwind, Sir Lord Baltimore, Black Sabbath, Deep Purple, etc. Their lyrics are infused with heavy influence of space rock as well. The band was founded by Dave Wyndorf (vocals/guitar), John McBain (guitar), along with Tim Cronin (vocals/drums). They were originally named Dogs of Mystery, but later settled on Monster Magnet.

On "Powertrip", the track list is :

1.Crop Circle

2. Powertrip

3. Space Lord

4. Temple of Your Dreams

5. Bummer

6. Baby Gotterdamerung

7. 19 Witches

8. 3rd Eye Landslide

9. See You in Hell

10. Tractor

11. Atomic Clock

12. Goliath and the Vampires

13. Your Lies Become You

"Space Lord" was a song that became a big rock hit when it was released. The "Powertrip" album was out in the public in June 16, 1998. Before "Powertrip," there were also the albums "Spine of God" (1991), "Superjudge" (1993) and "Dopes To Infinity" (1995).

Monster Magnet's "Powertrip" Record

Monster Magnet's "Powertrip" Record

I didn't include the art for "Dopes to Infinity" here because I felt like that one may cause a few issues with GAG and I, but hey you're welcome to look it up.

Anyway, after the last tour for "Dopes to Infinity," Wyndorf began work on "Powertrip" once he flew to Las Vegas. He stayed in a hotel and vowed to write a song a day for 21 days. His lyrics were inspired by the environment around him in Vegas, such as with gambling and nude women. "See You In Hell" is inspired by a story a hippie told him on a bus ride. The person said how his wife and him murdered their baby and buried the baby in the New Jersey Meadowlands. From the shock Wyndorf felt, he left the bus right away.

"Powertrip" is the 4th studio album made. Monster Magnet was able to achieve mainstream success by the time "Space Lord" was considered a hit single. Their songs from the album have also been used in different films. Such as "See You In Hell" in "Bride of Chucky", "Crop Circle" in the movie "Urban Legend", and more. Even "Powertrip" (the song) was included in a video game, "Motorstorm," in 2006.

Personally, I think this album kicks ass. Its one of those kinds that I consider pretty fun. Though I wouldn't suggest fellow teens blasting it in their strict parents' houses, due to the vulgarity in some of the lyrics and stuff (like for instance, "Cashing satan's checks, with my dick in my hand" from "3rd Eye Landslide") I mean luckily my parents don't really care though. My mom was the one who got the album for me!

Some of my favorite songs on the album are "Powertrip", "Space Lord", "Temple of Your Dreams", "19 Witches", "3rd Eye Landslide" and "Atomic Clock". I attached a few of those songs below.

Anyone else enjoy the trippy world of Monster Magnet? Speak up if you do!

I will soon be working on a take requested by one of my followers, the take is metal fashion - oriented. So keep an eye out! And never put those horns down. \\m//

Monster Magnet's "Powertrip" Record
5 Opinion