Is it a deal breaker to be 25 and still live with your parents?

I’m a 25 year old girl. I have a degree. I have a good paying job. I’m very independent. I just still happen to live with my mom. Is that something that guys consider a deal breaker?

0|2

Most Helpful Guys

• You went to college. It's almost a given you'll live with your parents for a while. You don't just graduate, get the top pay grade of your field and have all your loans paid off. It's not a turn off unless you have no desire to get out of that situation within the next 3-5 years

1|0
    0|0
    • I actually got a job that pays higher than my mom and she has her own degree and great paying job. It’s just temporary because I’m saving and currently applying to medical schools.

• No, it's fine. At least in California (and I know many other places), housing costs went way up after the recession started to ease, and few people can afford to live alone anymore. A friend of mine had been renting a 2-bedroom apartment (800 sq feet) for $2000/month, and they raised her rent to $2400/month, and then to $2600. She ended up moving into an "inlaw unit", which is basically a small studio apartment, as she couldn't afford that rent.

I just worked on a 2-car garage that was converted into an upscale studio apartment in Oakland - and not in the nice areas in the hills, but in the run-down (but quickly gentrifying) area near downtown. That studio is renting for $3000/month, and the guy who moved in feels fortunate to live there. There were over 30 applications for that space.

0|1
    0|0
    • Yeah I worked in Cali my lot rent to park my camper was $1600 a month I don’t know how people do it

• Show All
    • how do you live in California and pay those taxes? That's what everyone I know always says about California. The taxes.