Single for a year challenge - Think it'll work?

So I've not had the best luck in the dating scene this last year. Lots of no good situations. It's been bumming me out, and I know I'm meant for better things. I'm a confident gal, and know I need a break from guys.

So this New Years, I've decided to start a 1 year single challenge. No boyfriends or dates for 365 days. The occasional one night stand is allowed... for sanity purposes lol. I've never done this before, but I'm pretty excited to just focus on me, no dating drama.

But one of my friends is convinced that it won't work. She says that as soon as you "turn yourself off" from dating, that's when guys come out of the woodwork wanting your attention and that it will make it tough for me to stay on track.

So opinions! Think it can be done? Or do you think it's a pipe dream?

0|1

Most Helpful Guy

• As someone who started this 2 years ago it will work. Maybe I'm reaching here but since you started dating or turned 18 you probably haven't been single longer than 6 months? The fact is most people in their 20s and 30s bounce from partner to partner as quickly as they can. Its called settling for the first decent acceptable thing. The way your doing things now isn't working you wouldn't be doing this if it were and your smart enough to get that. The first 6 months or so are tough but after that you will love it. You will not get "turned off dating" but you will find an independence that you never knew you had. You will truly understand what I mean when I say that most people are settling for what ever. I still want to date and I do go out on the occasional rare date or talk to women. So its not that I'm turned off dating, but I do know the difference now between just wanting someone so I have someone and wanting someone because I think they are right. Go for it!!!

0|0
    0|1

Most Helpful Girl

• It all depends on how much you are really dedicated to do this.